Forgot your password?
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
  • default color
  • green color
  • red color


Aug 13th
Home Sections American Politics There Are Actually More Fil-Am Winners in the US Mid-Term Elections
There Are Actually More Fil-Am Winners in the US Mid-Term Elections PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 4
Friday, 05 November 2010 18:52



Journal Group Link International)


C HICAGO (jGLi) – A state senator and two more state representatives were among the 19 winners from at least 26 Filipino Americans, who have so far been reported to have taken part in the Nov. 2nd mid-term elections.


Out of these 19 winners, 12 are women  while seven are men in what the Filipina Women’s Network headed by Marily Mondejar described as “unprecedented.” She believes also that there are likely more candidates and winners who are coming forward.


Out of the 12 women, eight were re-elected, while four of them were newcomers. Among the eight, one was state senator, four state representatives, one state chief justice, three city council members, two school board trustees and one park-and-recreation board member.


On the other hand, seven Filipino men out of nine candidates were declared winners. Five of them were re-elected while two others were rookie candidates. The five include a U.S. representative, three mayors, two councilmembers and one district board commissioner.


The newly-declared winners are:

·         Donna Mercado Kim, a Democrat, re-elected State Senator for the District 14.

·        Della Au Bellati, a Democrat who was re-elected to the Hawaii State House Representative for District 25.

·        Rida Cabanilla Arakawa, a Democrat re-elected to State House of Representative for District 42 of Hawaii.

·        Linda Canlas, who was elected to the Union City School Board (New Haven).

·        Mae Cendana Torlakson was re-elected to Ambrose Recreation and Park Board (Bay Point), California.


The newly-proclaimed winners among men were:

·        Rob Banta, who was elected to Alameda City Council. And

·        Robert Bernardo elected to Harbor District Board of San Mateo County.


E arlier, those who were declared winners were Associate Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye, Republican, who was elected California’s Supreme Court Chief Justice, a first-time candidate, who garnered 3,5,73,448 Yes votes or 66.8% and U.S. Rep. Steve Austria, a Republican, who was re-elected to Ohio’s 7th District.


Mr. Austria, a Republican, got 132,936 votes or 62.53%, trouncing Democrat’s Bill Conner, who collected 67,803 votes or 31.89%.


Others elected were Kymberly Marcos Pine, also a Republican like Justice Sakauye, was re-elected as a member of the State House of Representative, District 43, of Ewa Beach in Hawaii, by getting 5,554 votes or 66%.


Kriselda “Kris” Valderrama, a Democrat re-elected to the State House of Delegates of Maryland, for District 26. She obtained 22,962 votes or 30.47%, second among four candidates that needed the top three vote getters as the winners.


Other Winning Fil-Am Candidates in California


P ete Sanchez was re-elected mayor of Suisan City in Solano County with 3,312 votes or 64.64% from among three candidates. He has been the mayor since 2006; Christopher Cabaldon, re-elected mayor of West Sacramento in Yolo county; He has been mayor since 1998. He amassed 6,592 votes or 63.9%.


Incumbent Mayor Michael “Mike” P. Guingona of Daly City was re-elected to the Daly City council for his third term. He secured 8,151 votes or 27.1%, chalking up the highest number of votes from among the five members, a position electing the top three candidates with highest number of votes.


Former Mayor Jose Esteves reclaimed his old post when he was elected mayor of the City of Milpitas of Santa Clara County for his fourth term. He collected 4,069 votes or 41.89%.


Re-electionist Joanne F. del Rosario kept her post as council member of Colma City in the county of San Mateo by polling 158 votes or 48.5% against her opponent Helen Fisicaro, who got 168 votes or 51.5%. They were the only candidates for the position that calls for two winners.


Pat D. Gacoscos was the top vote-getter for city council of Union City by collecting 5,135 votes or 20.39% out of the nine candidates. Only the top three candidates are elected to the council. The two others are Emily Duncan, who had 4,715 votes or 18.72% and Lorrin Ellis, with 3,762 votes or 14.94%.


Ms. Myrna L. de Vera is one of the two challengers to defeat the two incumbents in the Hercules City Council. She had 2,111 votes or 30.06%. She placed second among the four candidates running for the position open to two candidates.


Hydra Mendoza was re-elected to the San Francisco Board of Education, getting the most of the votes among 11 candidates with 62,438 votes or 21.32% votes for the position open to three candidates.


Linda Canlas topped the field of four candidates with 6,195 votes or 33.89% to the Union City School Board (New Haven), a first-time candidate for two open seats.


Mae Cendana Torlakson was re-elected to Ambrose Recreation and Park Board (Bay Point), California, with 1,275 votes or 23.9% topping the six candidates for the three open seats.


Rob Bonta was elected to Alameda City Council with 6,591 votes, 20.23%, first among eight candidates for the two open seats and a first timer for the position; Robert Bernardo elected to Harbor District Board of Commissioners, San Mateo County, with 60,225 votes, 33.3%, first among four candidates for the two open seats and first time to win this position.


In Hawaii, Della Au Belatti (D) was re-elected to State House Representative, District 25, with 4,302 votes or 59.4%; Donna Mercado Kim, (D) re-elected to State Senator, District 14, with 8,480 votes, 76.5%; Kymberly Marcos Pine, (R) re-elected to State House Representative, District 43, with 5,554 votes, 66%; and Rida Cabanilla Arakawa (D) re-elected to State House Representative, District 42, 2,790 votes, 54.3%.


Unsuccessful Aspirants for Public Office


T hose who lost were Evelyn Centeno for the Contra Costa Community College Board Ward 3; Cecilia “Ces” Rosales for the city council of Berkeley; Dorie Paniza for the Daly City council; Vilma B. Guinto Peoro for San Francisco Supervisor, District 2;


Lynn Finnegan (R) currently the House Representative Leader for the State of Hawaii lost in her bid for Lieutenant Governor (with Hawaii Lieutenant Governor James R. “Duke” Alona who ran for Governor). She got 157,098 votes, 40.8%; Adnan Shahab (R) for State Assembly, District 20; and Tony Daysog for Mayor of the City of Alameda (he is a former city council member). # # #


Editor’s Note: To contact the author, please e-mail him at:  (


Newer news items:
Older news items:


Add your comment

Your name:
Your email:
Comment (you may use HTML tags here):

Quote of the Day

Divine souls suffer violent opposition from mediocre minds.~Albert Einstein